Build your own salad bar!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was a huge success last night. The husband, the children, and the baby all enjoyed it. My only rule (for the kids, at least) was that you must take something out of every bowl. That way they got meat, cheese, different colored veggies, and fruits.

Then I put all the leftovers in to a mason jar for lunch for Travis tomorrow.

Here is a short list of some things you can include in your own salad bar:

  • spring mix
  • grapes
  • tomatoes
  • apples
  • cucumber
  • broccoli
  • sprouts
  • bell peppers
  • left over chopped up bacon
  • left over diced chicken
  • goat cheese
  • mozerrella
  • fresh herbs
  • onions

The list could go on and on…

About Beckie

I am a mother, wife, and doula trying to find more joy in life by having less.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Build your own salad bar!

  1. Kim says:

    That’s kinda what we do around here pretty regularly. I like being able to eat salad, but I hate that when I want a really good salad there’s so much prep involved, so I try to keep some things in my fridge that I can just grab. I’ve found that if you wash an entire head of lettuce and shred it, as long as it’s dried off really well you can keep it in a ziplock bag with a folded paper towel for a week (and sometimes longer) without it getting slimy or going bad. For the rest I’ll just pick one or two things each night that I’m making salad and prep a whole bunch (like an entire cucumber, or a couple of carrots, or a can of olives), and whatever we don’t use goes into pyrex containers, and I can see exactly exactly how much of what I have on hand.

    The other thing I’ve taken to doing is to put those things so that they’re the first thing I see when I open the fridge. That way, when I’m super hungry and go to get a snack, there’s a much better chance that I’m going to grab something that’s good for me. The only things allowed on the top shelf in my fridge are fruits, veggies, and leftovers so that they’re more likely to be eaten. Well, and condiments, but those don’t count.

  2. That looks ridiculous tasty. bam.

Leave a Reply

